Blaine and Ruttan lead CMAO nominations


The Country Music Association of Ontario announced their final nominees for its inaugural awards taking place at the Markham Theatre in Markham, Ontario on May 27th. Jason Blaine and Deric Ruttan lead the nominations with six each. While Small Town Pistols, Johnny Reid, Kira Isabella and The Stellas all came in with quite a few a piece as well. A full list of nominees can be found here:


Female Artist of the Year

Crystal Shawanda
Genevieve Fisher
Kira Isabella
Libby McGrath
Lindi Ortega
Michelle Wright
Sarah Cripps
Tara Oram
Tonya Kennedy
Victoria Banks

Male Artist of the Year
Billy J. White
Charlie Major
Deric Ruttan
Jason Blaine
Jason McCoy
Johnny Reid
Marshall Dane
Russell de Carle
Ryan Laird

Group Or Duo of the Year
Abrams Brothers
Kerosene Creek
Rob Kirkham/Neon Rain
Small Town Pistols
The Heartbroken
The River Junction Band
The Stellas
Western Avenue
Western Swing Authority
Wildwood Flowers

Rising Star Award
Amy Rose
Autumn Hill
Cadence Grace
Donna Ferra
Kate Todd
Larry Berrio
Lindsay Broughton
Megan Morrison
Naomi Bristow
Steve Rivers

Album of the Year
Crystal Shawanda – Just Like You
Deric Ruttan – Up All Night
Jason Blaine – Life So Far
Johnny Reid – Fire It Up
Kira Isabella – Love Me Like That
Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops
Marshall Dane – Running Stop Signs
The Heartbroken – Tonight Tonight
The Stellas – The Stellas
Victoria Banks – Never Be The Same

Single of the Year
Deric Ruttan – Main Street 1979
Jason Blaine – Cool
Jason Blaine – They Don’t Make “Em Like That Anymore
Johnny Reid – Dedicated To You
Kira Isabella – A Little More Work
Small Town Pistols – Colour Blind
Small Town Pistols – Living on the Outside
Tebey – Somewhere In The Country
The Stellas – In This House

Songwriter of the Year
Amanda Wilkinson, Tyler Wilkinson, Joey Moi, Jeff Johnston – Colour Blind
Brad Stella, MaryLynne Stella – In This House
Deric Ruttan – Main Street
Jason Blaine, Deric Ruttan – Cool
Jason Blaine, Derick Ruttan – They Don’t Make “Em Like That Anymore
Johnny Reid, Mike Reid, Thom Hardwell – Dedicated To You
Michelle Wright, Patricia Conroy, Danick Dupelle – Another Good Day
Shane Guse, Jason Blaine – All Dolled Up
Tebey, Sam Ellis – Somewhere In The Country
Tyler Wilkinson, Amanda Wilkinson, Steve Wilkinson- Living On The Outside